Skip to main content Skip to site footer

In the Running

13 March 2014

Oxford United shortlisted for two Football League Awards

Sunday will see Oxford United in the running for two awards at the prestigious Football League Awards 2014.

United have been shortlisted in the Family Club of the Year for the fourth season in a row. The club takes enormous pride in this area and this season has introduced a new Family Area on matchdays with player visits, speed guns to measure youngsters’ shooting power and a giant team picture for fans to have photographs in front of and be part of the team.

The Digital Content category is a new category for the most creative marketing use of digital content. United produced the ‘This is Oxford United’ video as part of a campaign which also saw special matchday programmes and newspapers produced as part of a special evening for business partners. The U’s are the only League 2 club nominated in this category.

The Awards, which celebrate on and off pitch achievements across The League’s 72 clubs, will reward players, clubs and fans in eight categories, which include honours for the Family Club of the Year, Community Club of the Year, Fan of the Year and the Unsung Hero award.

United are one of just five clubs to have been nominated twice.

Award shortlists in full:

Family Club of the Year Award
Birmingham City
Bristol City
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle
Wolverhampton Wanderers

Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year Award (shortlist comprises of five regional winners)
Brentford (South East Winner)
Derby County (Midlands Winner)
Doncaster Rovers (North East Winner)
Morecambe (North West Winner)
Portsmouth (South West Winner)

Unsung Hero Award
Norman Rimmington (Barnsley, Assistant Kitman)
Fred Woolven (Brighton & Hove Albion, Club Lottery Volunteer)
Frank Banks (Southend United, Community and Education Trust Volunteer)

PFA Player in the Community Award
Reda Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday)
David Martin (Milton Keynes Dons)
Elliot Omozusi (Leyton Orient)

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship 
Mason Bennett (Derby County)
Jake Charles (Huddersfield Town)
Bryn Morris (Middlesbrough)

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 1
Josh Brownhill (Preston North End)
Brendon Galloway (Milton Keynes Dons)
Samuel Szmodics (Colchester United)

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 2
Ben Purrington (Plymouth Argyle)
Bradley Walker (Hartlepool United)
Jack Whatmough (Portsmouth)

Perform Best Digital Content & Audience Growth Award:
AFC Bournemouth
Coventry City
Derby County 
Oxford United 
Queens Park Rangers 

There will also be awards on the night for the Mitre Goal of the Year, Managerial Achievement Award, Capital One Supporter of the Year, Sky Bet Player of the Year for the Championship, League 1 and League 2, Young Player of the Year, and Contribution to League Football.

Advertisement block