Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Oxford United Achieve Family Excellence Award

U's commended by EFL for family engagement on matchdays

26 April 2018

Oxford United have once again achieved the Family Excellence Award for engaging families in matchdays at the Kassam Stadium.

It is the eighth season in a row that the U's have receieved the award- every season since returning to the Football League in 2010. 

A total of 56 EFL Clubs have achieved Family Excellence status this year, 10 of which have been crowned as ‘Gold Award’ winners for their exemplary work in engaging families on match days.The award recognises continuous improvement and best practice in family engagement across the leagues and supports clubs’ efforts to attract and retain young fans of the future.

EFL clubs received two ‘mystery family’ visits throughout the season, with their feedback and reports determining whether each respective club would achieve ‘Family Excellence’ status. United are one of just seven clubs to have achieved the honour every year they have been eligible, with the Family Room - now open to young fans from all stands- and the Family Away Day to Walsall at the centre of our nomination.

We welcome all feedback on how we can continue to improve matchday for families: email kath faulkner ( if you have ideas for next season.

A full list of EFL Clubs to receive the Family Excellence & Gold status can be found below:

AFC Wimbledon
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Burton Albion
Cambridge United
Carlisle United
Charlton Athletic
Colchester United
Coventry City
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Exeter City
Fleetwood Town
Forest Green Rovers
Grimsby Town
Hull City
Ipswich Town
Mansfield Town
Milton Keynes Dons
Newport County
Northampton Town
Norwich City
Nottingham Forest
Notts County
Oldham Athletic
Oxford United
Peterborough United
Plymouth Argyle
Preston North End
Rochdale AFC
Rotherham United
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Shrewsbury Town
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wycombe Wanderers
Yeovil Town

Gold Award Winners; Aston Villa, Cardiff City, Derby County, Fulham, Middlesbrough, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Blackburn Rovers, Doncaster Rovers, Luton Town.

Advertisement block