Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Chairman Delighted to Join League Board

18 June 2013

Ian Lenagan on joining the Football League board

Ian Lenagan, Chairman of Oxford United,  has spoken of his pride at being  elected to the Board of The Football League


The Board is made up of elected members from each of the three divisions of the League, which this year celebrates its 125th anniversary. The U's' owner  received 18 of the 23 votes available from clubs in League 2, a remarkable show of confidence from his fellow Chairmen. He  said:


 “To be elected to the Board of The Football League is a proud moment for me personally and for Oxford United Football Club.  I will be working hard alongside the Board to help make The Football League even stronger.


"I was very honoured to be nominated in the first place and I hope that it shows the esteem that Oxford United are held in by fellow Football League clubs.  I have thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of being Oxford United Chairman for the past eleven months and feel that the club is moving firmly in the right direction.  Clubs around us seem to agree.


"It does show Oxford fans that their club is held in high regard with strong leadership, a solid infrastructure and a clear vision of the way forward.


 "Oxford United remains my football priority and promotion is the aim for the season ahead but it is good to know that we will have a strong voice in the future of such a fantastic institution as the Football League".


The U's' Chairman will join  Notts County Chief Executive James Rodwell , John Nixon (Carlisle United),  Chairman Greg Clarke, Independent Non-Executive Director Richard Bowker and Championship directors Shaun Harvey (Leeds United) and Keith Lamb (Middlesbrough).  

Advertisement block