Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

REACTION: Ed McGinty as United Win on Penalties

Keeper's debut reaction

10 August 2022

Club News

REACTION: Ed McGinty as United Win on Penalties

Keeper's debut reaction

10 August 2022

Ed McGinty had a night he will never forget as his Oxford United debut ended in a penalty shoot-out win over Swansea City last night.

McGinty, signed in pre-season from Sligo Rovers was beaten twice in the first half as the Championship side dominated but then grew into the game and played a key role with a penalty save in the shoot-out that allowed the U’s to progress to tonight’s draw.

“I think I tried too hard because it was my debut and it was one of the worst halves of football I remember playing!” he said. "But these things happen and you just have to get through it. I should have done better for both their goals but there‘s no point sulking, I knew I just had to get better in the second half.

“The Gaffer had words with me and that was the right thing to do. He was looking for a reaction. He could have taken it easy on me but I don’t need that. I am always honest about my own performance and I needed the Gaffer to be honest with me as well. That made me feel better and I went out there determined to do well in the second half.

“When it went to penalties I definitely knew I was going to save at least one. I managed to do that and then Cameron delivered, as he always does.


“It was a great reaction from us after going 2-0 down to a side from the division above. In the second half the way we pressed and put the pressure on was really good and we move on and will look forward to the next round.”

The Round Two draw will take place live on Sky Sports following the conclusion of Sheffield Wednesday v Sunderland this evening

The 13 Premier League clubs not competing in European competitions enter the Cup in Round Two alongside Burnley and Watford from the Sky Bet Championship. The Carabao Cup remains regionalised in the early rounds with the draw split into a southern and northern section until Round Three.

South Section
1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Brentford
3 Brighton & Hove Albion
4 Cambridge United
5 Charlton Athletic
6 Colchester United
7 Crawley Town
8 Crystal Palace
9 Exeter City
10 Forest Green Rovers
11 Fulham
12 Gillingham
13 Milton Keynes Dons
14 Newport County
15 Norwich City
16 Oxford United
17 Portsmouth
18 Southampton
19 Stevenage
20 Walsall
21 Watford
22 Wycombe Wanderers
23 Coventry City or Bristol City
24 Plymouth Argyle or Peterborough United


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match