Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Sam Long Wins Both Player of the Year Awards

Defender crowned as Supporters and Players' Player of the Year

11 May 2021

Sponsored by

Oxford United defender Sam Long was a double winner tonight as he was named as the AWBS Fans Player of the Season and the Cabling Company's Player of the Season.

Sam is a very worthy winner and will be formally presented with the trophies, including the AWBS Andrew Knapton Supporters award, named after fan Andrew, 'the Voice of The London Road' at the Manor.

"I am very surprised and very humbled to win the two awards" Sam said at the club's first ever online awards. "It means a lot. I have been at the club since I was a boy and I know there are some amazing players who have won these awards. I want to thank the fans for voting and I want to thank the players as well because that is an incredible feeling to know they voted for me when there are so many talented players in this squad."

The evening, hosted by Nathan Cooper, saw interviews with Chairman Tiger, Karl Robinson, John Mousinho and an acceptance speech from goalkeeper Jack Stevens who won the Grundon Waste Management Young Player of the Year, voted by the coaching and Academy staff.

"It's my first season in the first team and it's a great feeling to win this award" he said. "Defensively we have all played our part and it has been amazing to be part of a season which now goes in to the play-offs."

The Tite Inn Women’s Player of the Year was captain Lauren Haynes who made an emotional tribute to another Oxford Legend, Micky Lewis, who she described as hugely influential in her career both as a player and coach.

The Tripp Hearing Goal of the Season was awarded to Brandon Barker for his stunning solo effort away at Crewe Alexandra while the Grundon Waste Management Golden Boot went to Matty Taylor, with 18 goals so far.

We would like to thank all of our sponsors, especially AWBS, for their continued support of the evening.

AWBS are a highly trusted landscaping and builders’ merchants, offering a comprehensive range of stocked building supplies and landscaping supplies in both Yarnton and Oxford. Take a look HERE

The Andrew Knapton Supporters' Player of the Year Winners

2001/2 Jamie Brooks
2002/3 Dave Savage
2003/4 Dean Whitehead
2004/5 Chris Tardif
2005/6 Lee Mansell
2006/7 Yemi Odubade
2007/8 Luke Foster
2008/9 James Constable
2009/10 Ryan Clarke
2010/11 James Constable
2011/12 Andy Whing
2012/13 Ryan Clarke
2013/14 Ryan Clarke
2014/15 Danny Hylton
2015/16 Danny Hylton
2016/17 Simon Eastwood
2017/18 Ryan Ledson
2018/19 Josh Ruffels
2019/20 Rob Dickie
2020/21 Sam Long

Advertisement block