Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Eddie Brearey earns LFE Recognition

Young U's keeper caps a remarkable first year as a scholar

20 May 2021

Oxford United goalkeeper Eddie Brearey has capped a remarkable first year as a scholar by being named among ‘The 11’ by the League Football Education (LFE).

‘The 11’ acknowledges the football and academic progress of Under-18 players on apprenticeships at current or former EFL clubs – and is also designed to assess other factors, including involvement in community or charity-based initiatives.

Notable academy graduates to earn the accolade includes Jude Bellingham (formerly of Birmingham City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (formerly of Sheffield United), Ademola Lookman (formerly of Charlton Athletic), Oli McBurnie (formerly of Bradford City) and Ryan Sessegnon (formerly of Fulham).

Academy Manager Dan Harris told us:

“We talk all the time about helping our players become outstanding young men as well as outstanding young footballers. Eddie played his part in the Under 18s winning their league, he has been on the bench for the first team and been part of the first team training bubble plus he was called up for an England goalkeeper Training Camp.

“He should be very proud of his first year on the pitch and the award recognises that academically he has done really well too. That is a massive part of a scholarship and Eddie has worked very hard on that side of things. It’s good to see our overall development of these young men be recognised in this way and we'd like to thank Mat Jarvis, Steve Alman and all the club and LFE staff for all their hard work on the education programme in what has been a very difficult year for everyone."

LFE chief executive Sarah Stephen added: “The 11 is directly associated with apprentice reviews that are conducted by our Regional Officers throughout the season. It is a great way to highlight the achievements and progression of talented young footballers, who apply themselves to all aspects of their apprenticeship.”

Advertisement block