Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Carabao Cup Draw on Friday

U's seeded for first round

12 June 2017

The draw for Round One of the 2017/18 Carabao Cup will be made on Friday 16 June at 1:00pm.

The U’s have been seeded in the Southern Section of the competition with the draw live on various platforms, including EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and

The U’s were winners at Birmingham City last year, continuing their giant-killing record and emphasising their excellent record in the League Cup - a competition they won in 1986.

Seventy EFL Clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 7th August, with Sunderland included. Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the first round with seeding decided by a club’s finishing position in the EFL.

The 2017/18 Carabao Cup Final, the 58th in the competition’s history, will take place at Wembley Stadium on 25th February.

Due to the global appeal of the competition, Carabao, the Thai energy drinks brand, became title sponsor to the competition and official EFL partner earlier this year, with the exclusive partnership running until 2020.

South – Seeds South – Non-Seeds
1. Aston Villa 19. AFC Wimbledon
2. Birmingham City 20. Barnet
3. Brentford 21. Cambridge United
4. Bristol City 22. Cheltenham Town
5. Bristol Rovers 23. Colchester United
6. Cardiff City 24. Crawley Town
7. Charlton Athletic 25. Exeter City
8. Fulham 26. Forest Green Rovers
9. Ipswich Town 27. Gillingham
10. Millwall 28. Luton Town
11. Milton Keynes Dons 29. Newport County
12. Norwich City 30. Northampton Town
13. Oxford United 31. Plymouth Argyle
14. Peterborough United 32. Portsmouth
15. Queens Park Rangers 33. Stevenage
16. Reading 34. Swindon Town
17. Southend United 35. Wycombe Wanderers
18. Wolverhampton Wanderers 36. Yeovil Town
North – Seeds North – Non-Seeds
1. Barnsley 18. Accrington Stanley
2. Blackburn Rovers 19. Blackpool
3. Bolton Wanderers 20. Bury
4. Bradford City 21. Carlisle United
5. Burton Albion 22. Chesterfield
6. Derby County 23. Coventry City
7. Fleetwood Town 24. Crewe Alexandra
8. Leeds United 25. Doncaster Rovers
9. Nottingham Forest 26. Grimsby Town
10. Preston North End 27. Lincoln City
11. Rochdale 28. Mansfield Town
12. Rotherham United 29. Morecambe
13. Scunthorpe United 30. Notts County
14. Sheffield United 31. Oldham Athletic
15. Sheffield Wednesday 32. Port Vale
16. Sunderland 33. Shrewsbury Town
17. Wigan Athletic 34. Walsall

Advertisement block