Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Oxford United are Oxfordshire's Team of the Year

28 January 2017

U's land award at Oxfordshire Sports Awards

Oxford United were delighted to win the Team of the Year award at last night's Oxfordshire Sports Awards.

Managing Director Greig Box Turnbull was on hand to collect the trophy and told us:

"It is great for the whole club. So much hard work has gone in over the last 12 months in all departments and we are very proud to be recognised in this way. 

"We remain committed to Oxford United being at the heart of the community in Oxfordshire. We would also like to congratulate all of the other winners and nominees."


Sportsman: Winner – Andy Triggs Hodge (rowing). Runners-up – Kyron Anthony (dance), Tim Stephens (athletics)

Sportswoman: Winner – Fran Houghton (rowing). Runners-up – Linsey Smith (cricket), Kate Williamson (athletics)

Club: Winner – Oxford City Athletics. Runners-up – Abingdon Gymnastics, Gosford All Blacks Rugby

Team: Winner – Oxford United . Runners-up – Harlequin Bowmen (archery), Oxford Saints (American football)

Coach: Winner – Marcia Marriott (athletics). Runners-up – Kelly Collins (dance), Tammy Sear-Watkins (ice skating)

Junior sportsperson: Winner – David Murphy (swimming). Runners-up – Ben Goodall (gymnastics), Miriam Pritchard (hockey)

Junior sports team: Winner – Oxfordshire U17 cricket. Runners-up – Gosford Hill U15 football, Henley U16 rowing

Sporting primary school: Winner – Whitchurch (Goring). Runners-up – Larkrise (Oxford), Wantage C of E.

Sporting secondary school: Winner – Blessed George Napier (Banbury). Runners-up – Cherwell (Oxford), King Alfred’s (Wantage)

Disability award: Winner – Witney Wolves (rugby). Runners-up – Oxfordshire Bears (cricket), Big, Bold & Balance (exercise)

Unsung hero: Winner – Robin Aston (table tennis). Runners-up – Deborah Evelyn (hockey), Peter Travis (kayaking/rowing)

Young Volunteer: Winner – Robbie Scragg (hockey). Runners-up – Lois MacDonald (netball), Rosalind Tsang (netball)

Sports Development Project: Winner – High Sheriff Challenge (Oxford). Runners-up – Parkrun, Sportivate Street Hockey

Active Workplace Award: Winner – Oxford Brookes University. Runners-up – Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group, Health Education England

Advertisement block