Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Eastwood the star at Awards Night

30 April 2017

Awards night ends a great season

Just over 300 people enjoyed a fantastic night at the Oxford United Awards evening tonight, sponsored by Wellers.

The guests enjoyed a three course meal while hearing from Chairman Darryl Eales, Head Coach Michael Appleton and Women’s Team Manager Andy Cook as well as Head of Oxford United in the Community Kate Longworth.

There were nine awards on the night as the club celebrated a terrific first season back on League One; a year that saw them score 100 goals, finish eighth in the table, enjoy a memorable FA Cup run that saw them beat Premier League new boys Newcastle United and reach Wembley again for the final of the Checkatrade Trophy.

Goalkeeper Simon Eastwood was the star of the night, winning both the Supporters Player of the Year and Players Player of the Year while Rob Hall’s stunning strike at Swindon won the Goal of the Season.

The winners were

Pennington Manches Goal of the Season Rob Hall (Swindon a)

The Lan3  and Oathill Quarry,  Jack Casley Young Player of the Year  - Canice Carroll

The Isinglass Community Contribution – John Lundstram and Demi Lambourne 

NewTrim Club Person of the Year -  Mark Jarrett

WSL Emerging Talent, sponsored by Planet IT - Ellie Noble 

The Autotrak Golden Boot - Chris Maguire

Family First  Unsung Hero -  Richard Blackmore 

The Wellers Andrew Knapton Supporters’ Player of the Year – Simon Eastwood 

The Grundon Players’ Player of the Year – Simon Eastwood

Our thanks to Wellers for their sponsorship of the event. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Advertisement block