Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Oxford United Announce Retained List

23 May 2016

Offers made to four while five players move on

Oxford United can confirm that they will be offering new contracts to strikers Danny Hylton and Chris Maguire while activating options on contracts for Josh Ruffels and Benji Buchel that will keep them at the club for a further year.

Hylton, last season’s Supporters’ Player of the Year, and Maguire who scored four goals in the final six games of the season to help the U’s win promotion to League One, held talks with Head Coach Michael Appleton last week with the aim of keeping them at the U’s. Meanwhile both midfielder Ruffels and keeper Buchel  had clauses in their contract that the club have taken up for next season.

However five players have been told that they will not be offered new deals with the club:  Johnny Mullins, Jordan Bowery, Pat Hoban, Freddie Grant, and AJ George.

Michael Appleton said:

“I’d like to thank all five of those players. Freddie and AJ are both great lads who I’m sure will bounce back from the disappointment and look to prove us wrong, while Pat and Jordan both played parts in our promotion and we wish them well for the future. 

“Johnny Mullins is a fantastic professional and been a wonderful servant to the club but with the emergence of Chey Dunkley there is no guarantee that he will start each week. The door is not completely closed but we have been very up front with each other and he is now able to go and talk to clubs this summer and see what is out there.”

Three loan players, Jonjoe Kenny, George Waring, and Jordan Evans returned to their parent clubs after the final game of the season.

Advertisement block