Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Callum Called Up for Republic

10 March 2015

Callum called into the Irish under 21s

Oxford United’s exciting young forward Callum O’Dowda has been called into the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad for the first time.

The 19-year-old from Kidlington has been in excellent form for the U’s this season and has been rewarded with a place in the Irish squad for the game against Andorra at Waterford in the UEFA U21 Championship Qualifying Round on Thursday, March 26 (7.45pm).

He qualifies through his grandfather, the late Brendan O'Dowda, who was born in Dundalk and was a famous Irish Tenor.

Callum told us:

“I am very proud and very excited to have the call up. It is a privilege to be included. I fly out on the Sunday to join up with the squad so I don’t miss any Oxford games and it will be a fantastic experience.

“I was approached a few weeks about to see if I would be interested because of my family’s Irish background. I jumped at the chance and can’t wait to be involved.”

Republic of Ireland under-21 Manager Noel King said:

“We are looking forward to the start of the new campaign. It’s important we get off to a good start and having a strong home support in Waterford will be very important.

“There are a couple of new additions to this squad who I’ve watched at their clubs over the past few months and we’re delighted that they have committed themselves to Ireland.

“Our aim is to qualify for the UEFA U21 Championships for the first time and make history. It won’t be easy as we are in a strong group – Serbia were the European Champions at this age-group at U19 level while Italy are the most successful U21 team ever in European competition, so that speaks for itself.”

Daniel Rogers (Aberdeen FC)
Ian Lawlor (Manchester City FC)
Jack Connors (Dagenham & Redbridge FC)
Callum O’Dowda (Oxford United FC)
Bradley Garmston (West Bromwich Albion FC)
Niall Keown (Reading FC)
Lee Desmond (St Patrick’s Athletic FC)
Sean Kavanagh (Fulham FC)
Thomas Hoban (Watford FC)
Daragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers FC)
Glen Rea (Brighton & Hove Albion FC)
Alan Browne (Preston North End FC)
Matthew Hamilton (Wigan Athletic FC)
Jack Byrne (Manchester City FC)
Kenneth McEvoy (Tottenham Hotspur FC)
Dylan Connolly (Ipswich Town FC)
Shamir Goodwin(Brighton & Hove Albion FC)
Conor Wilkinson (Bolton Wanderers FC)

Advertisement block