Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ambrose the Unsung Hero

20 April 2015

Club News

Ambrose the Unsung Hero

20 April 2015

Ambrose Landon joins 72 Football League unsung heroes

The Football League yesterday announced 72 ‘Club Heroes’, recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs: the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award.

The award highlights the role played by staff at clubs throughout the League, whose work often goes unnoticed. All clubs were asked to nominate one member of staff to be recognised for their loyal and dedicated service off the pitch. Those selected cover a whole variety of roles, showing the many different aspects of a professional football club, and include employees that have been involved with their club for over 10 years.

Oxford United’s nomination was Ambrose Landon.

Ambrose has been a fan since the '70s and was involved as a player sponsor and on various committees at the club until, on retiring from work, he joined the backroom team in 1995 to help out in the media department and on matchdays. Since then he has been a massive help to the club in roles including programme editor, press officer, assistant editor, proof-reader and his current role as press liaison officer.

The club’s Communication Manager Chris Williams writes:

“Ambrose fully deserves this recognition. He won’t thank me for saying that he is 78 now but he still has that enthusiasm and energy on a matchday. Fans may not be aware of the work he does but Ambrose is first into the press room on a Saturday, he greets the media and scouts as they arrive and makes sure everyone is OK and has all they need to do their jobs. He is usually the first person that visiting managers and scouts ask after and is a massive help to us.

“We are very fortunate to have a fantastic group of volunteers who do such great work for the club. I am proud to have worked alongside Ambrose for the last 15 years, and even prouder to call him a friend.”

Ambrose will receive a special commemorative glass plaque to mark his inclusion in the list.  It is the first time that every one of the 72 Football League clubs has been honoured at the annual awards ceremony as part of a special way to mark the 10th year of the event.

The full list of Club Heroes is;

Accrington Stanley – Vikki Gilmartin (Head of Finance)
AFC Bournemouth – Neil Vacher (Club Secretary)
AFC Wimbledon – Tim Hillyer (Shop Manager)
Barnsley – Norman Rimmington (Laundry Worker)
Birmingham City – Brian Murphy (Training Ground/Stadium Maintenance Manager)
Blackburn Rovers – Barbara Magee (Travel Administrator)
Blackpool Football Club – Rennie Parker (Golden Gamble Ticket Seller)
Bolton Wanderers – Joe McGlynn (General Operative)
Bradford City – John Duckworth (Kitman)
Brentford – Roger Crook (Community Sports Trust)
Brighton & Hove Albion – Keith Gallis (Matchday Programme & Lottery Coordinator)
Bristol City – Keith Draisey (Head of Operations)
Burton Albion – Enid Barks (Tea Lady)
Bury – Joan Curtis (Club Lottery)
Cambridge United – Dave Doggett (Chairman)
Cardiff City – John Tobutt (Academy Day Release Teacher & Coach)
Carlisle United – John Halpin (Football In The Community Officer)
Charlton Athletic – Bob Snow (former Player Liaison Officer)
Cheltenham Town – Paul Godfrey (Club Director)
Chesterfield – Jim Brown (Commercial Manager)
Colchester United – Julie Ager (Football Sales Executive)
Coventry City – Andrew Harvey (Training Ground Operations Manager)
Crawley Town – Terry Marshall (Steward)
Crewe Alexandra – Bev Dyer (Ticket Office Manager)
Dagenham &Redbridge – Chris Pollard (Functions Manager)
Derby County – Gordon Guthrie (Club Ambassador)
Doncaster Rovers – Tracy Kennedy (Laundry Manager)
Exeter City – Richard Knight (Club Secretary)
Fleetwood Town – Ted Lowery (Honorary Vice President)
Fulham – Michael Cripps (Groundsman)
Gillingham – Peter Lloyd (Away Travel Co-Ordinator/Radio Summariser)
Hartlepool United – Doris Ford (Catering Manager)
Huddersfield Town – Andrew Brook (Kit Manager)
Ipswich Town – Pat Godbold (Club Archivist/Historian)
Leeds United – Stix Lockwood (Player / Community / Charity / Supporter Liaison)
Leyton Orient – Lindsey Martin (Club Secretary & Ticket Office Manager)
Luton Town – John Buttle (Press Consultant)
Mansfield Town – Michael Merriman (Head Groundsman / Kit Manager)
Middlesbrough – Ron Bone (Head Of Academy Recruitment)
Millwall – Colin Sayer (Stadium Manager)
Milton Keynes Dons – Paul Heald (Goalkeeping Coach/Player Liaison Officer)
Morecambe – Richard Danson (Senior Academy Scout / Match Day Co-ordinator)
Newport County – David Hando (Club President)
Northampton Town – Frank Grande (Club Historian)
Norwich City – Danny Casey (Ticket Office Manager & Customer Services Manager)
Nottingham Forest – Brian Goodliffe (Steward Supervisor & Tour Guide)
Notts County – Jo Richardson (Accounts Assistant/Facilities Co-Ordinator)
Oldham Athletic – Judith Lane (Retired PA to the Chief Executive)
Oxford United – Ambrose Landon (Press Liaison Officer)
Peterborough United – Tony Broughton (Match Day Host)
Plymouth Argyle – Rachel Fry (Head of Retail)
Port Vale – Steve Speed (Head Groundsman / Stadium Manager)
Portsmouth – Michael Turner (Deputy Safety Officer)
Preston North End – Simon Nash (Club Mascot – Deepdale Duck)
Reading – David Downs (Safeguarding Officer, Reading FC Academy)
Rochdale – Jack Northover (Kitman)
Rotherham United – Denis Circuit (Head of Medical)
Scunthorpe United – John Staff (Draw/Programme Seller, Historian & Scout)
Sheffield United – Gary Shanks (Club Mascot – Captain Blade)
Sheffield Wednesday – Keith Howard (Official Club Historian)
Shrewsbury Town – Ryan Jervis (PA Announcer)
Southend United – Helen Norbury (Football Secretary)
Stevenage – John & Janet Ryder (Head Groundsman / Club Shop Assistant & Kit Lady) 
Swindon Town – Roger Reeves (Match Day Tunnel / Academy Co-ordinator)
Tranmere Rovers – Tony Coombes (Programme Designer)
Walsall – Paul Mason (Training Ground Manager)
Watford – Mary Thompson (Programme Sales Co-Ordinator)
Wigan Athletic – Kathryne Farnworth (PA to Team Manager and Club Doctor)
Wolverhampton Wanderers – Ron Picken (Academy Operations Coordinator)
Wycombe Wanderers – Gina Allan (Club Doctor)
Yeovil Town – Darren Way (Assistant Manager)
York City – David Quinn (Programme Seller & Transfer Box Operator)

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match