Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

United Hoping for Award Success

21 March 2013

U's shortlisted for two Football League awards

Oxford United are in the running for two awards at the prestigious Football League Awards 2013  which take place this Sunday.

The awards celebrate the achievements of Football League clubs across eight categories, and the winners will be announced at the Gala ceremony at The Brewery, London this weekend. 

The first award United have been shortlisted for is the Family Club of the Year. The U's have been commended for their work in this area in each of the previous two years, winning the League Two award in 2011, and are among six clubs nominated in this category this season. 

The second award is for the league's Unsung Hero, which will be presented to someone who has worked tirelessly behind the scenes at their club for many years. Peter Rhoades-Brown, the club's Community Officer is in the final three in this category. 

The shortlisted awards are :  

Family Club of the Year
AFC Bournemouth
Brighton & Hove Albion
Cardiff City
Doncaster Rovers
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle

Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year
Cardiff City (Cardiff City Community & Education Foundation) - South West & Wales
Charlton Athletic (Charlton Athletic Community Trust) - South East
Derby County (Derby County in the Community) - Midlands
Huddersfield Town (Huddersfield Town Football In The Community) - North East
Tranmere Rovers (Tranmere Rovers In The Community) - North West

Perform Best Use of Digital:
Birmingham City
Bristol City
Crystal Palace
Leeds United
Plymouth Argyle
Swindon Town

Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award
John Harriss - AFC Bournemouth
Billy Neil - Millwall
Peter Rhoades-Brown - Oxford United

PFA Player in the Community
Inigo Calderon – Brighton & Hove Albion
Alan Lee – Huddersfield Town
Mark Roberts – Stevenage

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship 
Dimitar Evtimar - Nottingham Forest
Duane Holmes - Huddersfield Town
Bernard Mensah - Watford

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 1
Luke James – Hartlepool United
George Willis – Sheffield United
Drey Wright – Colchester United

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League 2
James Allen – Rochdale
Tyler Harvey – Plymouth Argyle
George Sykes – Barnet

In addition the three shortlisted players for the npower League 2 Player of the Year, voted by managers, have now been announced

Jamie Cureton – Exeter City                
Gary Jones – Bradford City    
Tom Pope – Port Vale

There will also be awards on the night for the Mitre Goal of the Year, Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement Award, npower Fan of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year, and Contribution to League Football. 

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories visit

Advertisement block