Skip to main content Skip to site footer


The Royal Navy is made up of five arms: ships of the Surface Fleet, the Fleet Air Arm, the covert Submarine Service, the elite and amphibious Royal Marines, and the civilian fleet central to our effectiveness, the Royal Fleet Auxiliary. 

The roles of the Navy include preventing conflict, providing security at sea and working with our allies and partners to help cement the relationships that our nation depends on.  The Navy also had to be ready to fight and to safeguard the high seas trade routes that Britain depends on for 95% of its economic activity.  The Navy’s ability to overcome adverse conditions means we’re often the first to respond when disaster strikes.  We are currently providing support to islands in the Caribbean in the wake of the Hurricane IRMA that has afflicted the region.  Find out more or follow us at:

iFollow Next Match